Aim High … Fly-Fight-Win

 

1. My artwork is a vintage picture of Benjamin O. Davis Jr. who was an American World War II pilot and the first African-American U.S. Air Force general. I chose these colors because it looks cool and gives it like a rustic feel. This picture also shows him during his time as a member of the air force which I thought was a really good touch.

2. I used both Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator to make my poster. For techniques, I also use clip masking, shapes, typography, and color palettes to create my artwork. For tools, I used the select tool, the shape tool, and the layers tool.

3. I was inspired to use Benjamin O. Davis Jr. because I made a report on him back when I was in middle school. It was this project where I head to dress up as him and make a speech talking about his life as if I were him. I just thought he was really cool and inspirational, so I wanted to make a tribute to him. I love the Tuskegee Airmen and he was a part of them so that was also another driving force. I wanted to highlight his bravery and patriotism serving his country in WWII especially as a man of color back in the day.

4. My goal was just to make something that was really cool and did the Benjamin O. Davis Jr justice. I wanted it to represent all the things he believed in and show him as a powerful and influential figure who should be respected. I think I succeeded in my goal as I am really proud of the project I did.

5. Overall as I said, I think I did a very good job with this project. I honestly didn’t think it would turn out as well as it did, so I was pleasantly surprised when it did. I didn’t have many plans going into this, so I didn’t know what to expect but it came out really good in the end. I learned a variety of new techniques I never knew before and also increased my knowledge on both Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator. This was one of my favorite projects in Graphic Art.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *